What Makes A Wine Vegan?

Given that wine is a product of grapes and yeast, some may assume that all wines are appropriate for vegans. However, that is not always the case.

A wine can be called vegan when it is made without any contact with or addition of a product of animal origin.

Fining stage

Animal products or ‘agents’ can be used in the process of wine production at the ‘fining stage’.

Fining stage comes after filtration stage. Fining is necessary if the wine manufacturer observes some soluble substances and wants them removed. The process of fining removes soluble substances, phenols, and proteins by converting them into larger molecules that can be filtered out of the wine.

Another reason can be to remove hard tannins by making them sink to the bottom of the barrel when getting in contact with the molecules of the agents.

Non – vegan agents include egg whites, casein, gelatin, and chitosan.

Vegan – friendly agents

To make Vegan wine alternative agents for the same processes are used. These include carbon, bentonite clay, limestone, kaolin clay, plant casein, silica gel, and vegetable plaques. All of these are Vegan.

Where to find Vegan wines?

Vegan wines are becoming more popular and more options get available from Italian wine producers. Explore our Italian vegan wine selection following this link.




Leave a comment

Free delivery for orders above £97 for majority of postcodes
Hello. Add your message here.

Our website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. Please see our Privacy policy for further details.

Cookie settings

Below you can choose which kind of cookies you allow on this website. Click on the "Save cookie settings" button to apply your choice.

FunctionalOur website uses functional cookies. These cookies are necessary to let our website work and process your orders.

AnalyticalOur website uses analytical cookies to make it possible to analyse our website and optimise it for usability, for example, wine search and processing your orders.

Social mediaOur website places social media cookies to show you 3rd party content like YouTube and FaceBook.

AdvertisingOur website places advertising cookies to show you 3rd party advertisements based on your interests.

OtherOur website places 3rd party cookies from other 3rd party services which aren't Analytical, Social media or Advertising.